5 days, 5 different setups

I worked as a lobby DJ for Salesforce’s Dreamforce conference last week. Since I was set to mix each day, all day, I wanted to change it up and keep switching out my controller or software to figure out which I prefer.

Day 1
Started off with DJAY Pro on the laptop w/ the Pioneer
DDJ-400. Controller works very good with DJAY. It’s very lightweight and has RCA outputs. It fits in my gator club bag easy.

Day 2
Used the Denon 4000 with Traktor. This is my usual setup and mostly use it in a flight case. The booth I was in had limited space so I couldn’t use it with the case. The Denon is a solid controller but it has been glitching with DJAY lately so I’m using it with Traktor. This is still a pretty good setup but the 4000 in a bag with laptop and stand was the heaviest I had to lug in all week. I’ve also started to prefer DJAY more than Traktor.

Day 3
Next was the Reloop Mixtour and an IPad Pro. Djay on IOS is really fun to use. Matched up with the Reloop it’s extremely compact. As much as I like using the mixtour, I prefer using
jogwheels.

Day 4
Keeping Djay on iPad, I switched over to a Ddj-200. Ddj-200 is wireless midi and has to use audio out directly from iPad and use a splitter cable for headphone cuing. I connected a usb-c audio/power adapter to the iPad. No browse controls on the DDJ-200 so I just remapped the controller to use some the hot cues to browse and load. This surprisingly was my favorite setup of the week. I would have liked to use the ddj-400 with the iPad but that has a glitch when used together where audio cuts out randomly. If that did work, that would be my favorite.

Day 5
This day I only had to play for 4 hours. I paired my phone with the ddj-200. This was pretty cool. One of the sound techs asked if it was harder to mix on my phone so I did a set in front of him of 70 songs in an hour. It was pretty cool.