Beginner here, please help.....advice and guidance needed please!

Hi everyone,

Im a real beginner as far as DJay is concerned.

I am running version 3.1.4 of DJay on my MacBook Pro. I originally bought the DJay software so I can make mixes to train to and listen to at work, using iTunes.

I really need some basic guidance on equipment that I need to make basic mixes. I current use my headphones plugged into the headphone socket on my MacBook but I cant listen to the track that I want to cue in, as well as listen to the track that is allready playing.
What do I need to buy so I can do this? Do I need to purchase some speakers to do this properly or can I do it within my MacBook with the correct equipment?

Lastly, would it make any difference if I bought a cheap mixing deck plugged into my MacBook?

Much thanks in advance for any hep and advice.

Justin

Hi,

Please also check the following articles:

Thanks for your comments.

I can completely control Djay with my MacBook ‘only’…what about all the controllers available? Vestax Spin, Pioneer DDJ WeGO to name but a few!
Like you, I now have the Djay keyboard cover but I believe you have far more control over the Djay software through a separate controller.

How do you find the splitter from Griffin? Can you recommend any external speakers to use? I was thinking of the ‘ADAM A5X’.

You can completely control Djay with your MacBook only. In the help section, there will be a huge list of keyboard shortcuts that basically take advantage of every feature in the software. I also bought the keyboard cover from KB-Covers which puts all the shortcuts in front of me. I see plenty of club DJ’s who use their Mac only. While I love DJay, it really isn’t a professional software, so the controllers made for them aren’t either. They really don’t add anything that you can’t already do with your Mac keyboard.