Controller for djay pro. Pioneer flx4?

Hello.

I am interested in purchasing a controller. I am a beginner, curious all my life but beginner in this djing thing, which for me is a hobby and a little more maybe, but I do not intend to make this my profession.

Reading and reading I have come to the conclusion that the Pioneer flx4 is a good entry option with a view to learn even go a little further.

What do you think? Any other recommendation?

I have also seen The Next Beat a TĂŻesto

I accept suggestions.

2 Likes

@tatu the Pioneer DDJ-FLX4 would indeed be a good beginner option to use with djay Pro AI. The Reloop controllers also integrate extremely well with djay. I can personally recommend the Reloop Ready. Not only is it very portable, but it also has most of the functions you would find on larger Pro gear so room for you to learn. In addition to that Numark and Hercules offer beginner options that are natively supported. Here’s a list of all supported hardware for djay Pro AI on MacOS:

2 Likes

I have that controller and am very happy with it. Small size and almost no compromises, full recommendation for that price. Things that I’m missing are better FX selection and more sound output options.

Only alternative that I would see is a used Reloop Mixon 4 which you might get for a comparable price.

1 Like

To get a Mixon 4 for a similar price, you have to be lucky, even used. Normally, they cost significantly more.

The Flx4 is certainly not a bad controller and is also recommended again and again as a device for beginners. I’ve had it myself and before that also the DDJ-400, and that is much more than a controller only for beginners, if you want it. Still though, also because of a personal experience, I think the Flx4 is overrated, as is Pioneer as standard DJ equipment in general.