Does Algoriddim plan to create audio drivers using AudioDriverKit for iPadOS 16?

I also sent this topic over to Apple Developer Forums.

I am a beginner DJ. I have been researching which hardware is compatible with Djay. There is a list in the Algoriddim website.

I prefer being able to use my iPad Pro 11-in 2018 model with this application but don’t have the capable DJ controller or hardware to pull that off. I have a Pioneer DJ controller and the model is a DDJ-800. It is currently not compatible. I know it is possible to individually map every single knob and fader but that would take way too long. What I would like to do is to use the MIDI Learn feature that Djay gives to controllers that are compatible. It would also be cool to use built-in effects from this controller instead of the ones that are only in the application.

Aside - In a time of subscriptions, Pioneer DJ is now charging an arm in a leg for Rekordbox 6 and Djay is more appealing at $30-$50/year, charging half or a third of Pioneer’s base subscription “Core” plan ($100/year) and bringing features like DVS for mobile and audio visuals to the forefront.

Anyway - I started thinking. I looked over to my controller and noticed on the jog wheels a message appears when connected to the iPad. It says that there is “No Audio Driver.” So I did a little bit of research and came across this video in WWDC22 and this article there as well called Creating drivers for iPadOS.

To summarize in iPadOS 16 and above there will be an iPadOS version of DriverKit and more specifically AudioDriverKit. With this software developers can create audio drivers to complement certain pieces of hardware (MIDI controllers and such). There is a but however. To access this new feature one needs to have an M1 iPad (Air or Pro for now). As someone who doesn’t like planned obsolescence, I found this disappointing from Apple’s part.