Hot Cue management

Hello people!

I have a question about the use of hot cues. Maybe you can enlighten me.

When I prepare a set, I go through all the songs and mark them with hot cue to know where I should pitch the next one and stuff like that. And that’s useful as long as the set doesn’t vary the order, but it happens to me that another day I prepare another set with more or less the same songs but in a different order, so the marks don’t match.

How do you manage this? I would like to deepen a little on this subject, I am an amateur and from time to time I do a set in a small pub.

Thanks in advance.

Hi @tatu, personally what I do is follow a consistent general formula for how I set Hot Cues on all tracks. I like to have a lot of flexibility in my DJ sets and rarely pre-plan my set order and track selection. Having a consistent Hot Cue formula makes it much easier to mix unfamiliar tracks together on the fly.

1. Typically I will set at least 1 good mix in point and 1 good mix out point on each track. Often this is a nice intro or outro section of the song or maybe an 8-16 bar breakdown before a drop. I set these more or less independent of other tracks in my collection and setlist.
  2. I will usually also set a Hot Cue for where the vocals first start. Mainly as a visual reminder to be fully mixed in before this point to avoid accidental vocals on vocals. I also usually rename this Hot Cue something like “VocalStart”.
  3. Then I set Hot Cues on the main drops or other key sections like the chorus or breakdown.
  4. This method leaves things pretty flexible for the track order and mixing within my set.
  5. Of course there will always be 2-3 songs that you know mix well together and in a certain order. In those cases you can change the name of your Hot Cue to help you remember when to mix in which track.
3 Likes

Thanks @Slak_Jaw , this is a very useful info.