How to clean up neural mix vocals better

Hey everyone. I’m fairly new to DJ-ing in general, so forgive me if I’m asking a painfully rookie question. I’ve got djay Pro AI on my Macbook Pro and using a DDJ-200 controller. I’m getting the hang of isolating vocals using neuralmix, yet they sound so tinny with harsh s’s. I do my best to use the EQ settings to reduce that and it’s still not great.

I have not yet ventured into using a DAW, so if that’s the answer, I would love any advice. Maybe I have to isolate vocals outside of djay, clean them up, and re-import them as their own audio files?

Thanks in advance for any guidance. My googling and searching gave me so many different videos to watch, it was overwhelming, so I appreciate some personal advice here.

Cheers,
J

I haven’t really compared how different tools isolate the vocals, but as you noticed that the result might not be really good.

The best option is to try to find the official acappella version from that song, but it so rare that artists release them. Some acappella versions might be available from dj pools and different online music shops.

2 Likes

let me just make sure I’m clear on what you want to do: You want JUST the vocal to be extracted from a song? to lift an isolated vocal track from a mix?

I’ll have more questions if I’m correct…but I can try to help.

1 Like

Hey Janan, a lot of this will also depend on the quality of the original song. For example, you’ll get a much better result from a WAV or 320kbps mp3 that’s direct from an authorized digital seller. Whereas a YouTube rip or lower quality file (say 128kbps mp3) will give you a lower result from Neural mix. I hope this helps.

1 Like

@dj_romy_fi Thank you! Yes, definitely vocal stems make life better and I’ll keep searching to find more and more. Cheers.