Importing songs from other apps.

Is it possible (and legal) to import songs from a YouTube Premium and YouTube Music app? I have a subscription to both…

I could be wrong but I don’t think You tube premium is available to be used as a streaming service with Djay…
Out of curiosity, what is the quality of the tracks with YouTube premium?
Is it 320kbp?

The only “workaround” might be if you were able to DL YouTube Music/Premium vids to your host machine, but you’d probably run up against DRM trying to play them back outside of approved software/devices…
and 320kbps sounds about right for vids - I would hope it’s higher for music

YouTube is not on the list of supported apps so you will not be successful using them. The available options are listed on this page. They are Tidal, SoundCloud, BeatPort and BeatSource.

2 Likes

So the question now becomes is it possible to save YouTube stuff to those services and have them play it back in djay…I think DRM will be the issue preventing it at the very least, if not the ToS of the services themselves. And maybe djay’s tooo!
Potentially that’s a whole bowl full of legal spaghetti I’d not be interested in having on my table…

I think you got it backwards - these services are not made for getting songs from YouTube or elsewhere into them, they have their own libraries (each with a specific focus) that you can use in djay, with Tidal being the most obvious replacement for YouTube and Spotify. The last option would be music files on your device, either via Music.app (née iTunes) or „naked“ MP3s / M4As / whathaveyou.

I was speculating that it MIGHT be possible to DL tracks from those services and save them in a user account for soundcloud…DJs might have such things, for posting their mixes/work - what’s to say they can’t be used within djay other than legalities and DRM? I’m not familiar with what might be in breach of copyright as far as “sampling” is concerned these days, thus the “bowl of legal spaghetti” I suggested.