Issues remapping on DDJ-FLX4

Hi there. I’m using a DDJ-FLX4 alongside djayPRO on macOS, and have been working on customising a number of the keys. I’ve been having two issues:

• Certain keys don’t appear/aren’t selected in the midi mapping list when pressed. It seems to just be the Shift+Sampler pads when pressed normally (if I press Shift+pads they’re detected fine!)

• A couple keys do show up in the midi mapping, but even when assigning them an action, they don’t actually have any effect. Specifically, I was planning on using the Smart CFX (CC 81) and Smart Fader (CC 3) buttons to toggle reverse and slip mode, respectively, and I think I’ve done that correctly (target selected deck; assign respective action; ensure the control type is set to a button that toggles, although I’ve also tried hold). I’ve tried the MIDI out settings too, although with no luck.

It all feels like it should work - I’ve managed to remap a bunch of the pads - but I’m pretty new to this, so I’m not sure if I’m missing something, or if it just doesn’t work. Does anyone have any suggestions? Thanks!

1 Like

Unfortunately, the official Algoriddim mapping for the FLX4 does some voodoo behind the scenes that cannot be customized by the user. Whenever you see a CC mapping, that’s a good sign that they’re doing something internally and blocking some MIDI commands from being used with that button/pad/midi control.

I have a custom FLX4 mapping built from scratch, using what is publicly available inside djay Pro (meaning no internal/proprietary CC commands). Many MIDI commands that are not available/usable in the built-in mapping – work fine in the custom FLX4 mapping. In fact, a ton of extra commands are available in the “Unofficial” mapping.

DDJ-FLX4 (Unofficial2.9).djayMidiMapping (79.9 KB)

1 Like

Well, good to know it’s not just something I’m doing wrong at least! Thanks for the explanation :slight_smile: