MCX8000 shows in midi but no functionality

Hi,

Hoping someone can assist.

I have an MCX8000 and a pro subscription to Djay Pro iOS. I am wanting to use Djay on an ipad Air. I have the ipad connected to the controller via Apple Lightning to USB Camera dongle.

When I open the app and then turn on the controller I do not see anything to ask me if I want to map the MCX8000 - almost as if it hasn’t been recognized. However, I know Djay Pro has recognized something because when I go into settings/MIDI Devices I can see 3 listed:

• Denon DJ MCX8000
  • mxc8000 Display Left
  • MCX8000 Display Right

What do I have to do from there? If I go into the fist option I see:

Midi Configuration = Denon DJ MCX8000

Then underneath that a list of 200 or so Control Mappings.

Do I have to manually click each and then switch “Midi-Out” on?

Or should it be done automatically?

Or is there something I should be doing but haven’t?

Any help would be gratefully received.

Thanks
AB

Hi there

Usually when you plug in a controller you can start using it without doing anything if it is supported.

In your case the controller shows up as three midi devices. main, display left and display right.
Did you read that Djay does not currently support the Denon DJ MCX8000 Displays, so you won’t get any info out of them!!!

You would go into settings, midi. see your controller name Denon DJ MCX8000. Click on that name and then simply exit out from the midi menu and all the non display features should be working.

You would usually only stay in the midi menu after selecting your controller, if you wanted to change any of the midi controls to work in a different way, by moving each individual control and assigning it a new function.
You said the mapping was showing about 200 or so controls. If you move a control does the software respond and show the midi command for that control. If so, then everything is working correctly.

Hope that helps (if not someone else should be able to).