Reloop Mixtour + iPhone 8 + Djay Pro + TIDAL setup?

Hi, I have rehearsed at bedroom for a month now with this setup and I have a gig coming up. (I’m not a beginner though, I DJd pretty intensely in 2013-2014 with DDJ controller+laptop (local MP3s) though. Owner expects me to play indie disco, lighter hiphop and urban classics and softer house.

I feel pretty comfortable and I have plenty suitable tracks for two hours set - this place also have all the necessary cables, speakers etc, strong WI-FI connection. I really like the compactness of this setup too. I haven’t noticed iPhone overheating or crashing/stalling, but I haven’t really mixed for over 2-3 hours yet too.

What I have noticed so far: TIDAL lets you DL tracks for offline use but they cannot be used in DJay Pro right? So wifi connection is a must, but I also have my cellular plan as a backup in the same phone. I’m also bringing iPad mini 3 with me just in case of something happens to iPhone.
I also noticed that I cannot rate/color code etc my TIDAL tracks in DJay so I have to prepare myself a little (no biggie though as I have handpicked all the tracks and know their energy levels in my head).

Any pointers/notes/tips/hints what else to keep in mind with this setup?

When checking posts in internet and overall sentiment, then I may look like a jerk with so compact setup because it has been said that DJ should be behind massive gear that also look professional. What do you think about it? For me it seems that quality music and DJ enjoying together with the crowd is the most important thing not outlook of the gear.

Thank you!

udog

hi

yeah you cannot use offline Tidal tracks in Djay ; you need to download them on the fly as you use Djay.
why not use the iPad instead of the iPhone ? bigger screeen

regards

Hi JiPenade, thank you for your reply!

IPad once started to drag on Deck 2, and on Deck 2 only. Pretty weird, I have no 100% confidence on it.