Understanding Sync / Sync Master / Tempo Reset [Win / DVS]

I am not too sure if its ok to flood my subjects, I am just getting into the software… maybe I will have followups so please break me in time :smiley: As the trial period of seven days will rush easily I am putting myself into the stress to understand and try out as much as possible in that short period.

I have started to map my existing X1MK2 to the software which does kinda work for the moment. I would like to mention that modifiers and fixed states would be a nice feature. I’d be fine if that would be limited to the mapping-file but that at least would need some documentation - or is there any?

Sync
I have mapped my left sync button to:

• sync on Deck 1
  • enable master sync on Deck 2 > this is also the setting for
    (and the right sync button accordingly to sync/Deck2 - masterSync/Deck1)

Now my expected behavior would be:

• Deck 1 is synced to Deck 2
  • I can adjust my phase / nudge / pitch the left platter without changing anything on the second deck on top of the synced bpm
  • when I turn off sync the adjusted bpm stays active - thought that is a reason for tempo reset to exist?

What it is actually doing:

• master Sync doesnt seem to have an effect and it is not recognizeable anywhere which deck is master - nudging and tempo adjustments seem to have an influence, while rough stuff (there seems to be some kind of scratch detection) does not
  • when I turn off the sync it jumps to the original tempo of the turntable
  • edit:// the tempo is also jumping when switching between rel / internal mode

Is this by design? I’d like to have a change to sync but still work with the non-master track even though I really like the idea of building transitions without the need of shifting two faders.

2 Likes

Hello @anselm,