Brainstorming/troubleshooting sound issues

Hi friends!

I’ve recorded a few mixes and posted them on SC. They each have imperfections. One of the latest one has decent mixing, but one track near the middle of the hourlong mix has volume issues. It sounds fine in my headphones, but not in my car. I can’t tell why or why the other tracks appear to sound good.

Please help! :slight_smile: novice here

1 Like

Hi there. Are you mastering the audio after recording or are you just posting the recorded file from djay? Also, are you recording in Wav or M4A?

1 Like

@T-MinusMusic It sounds to me that it’s mostly likely one of two possibilities:

1. That particular track is a lower sound quality file. I’m guessing you are using MP3 files. Check the Bit Rate of that particular file compared to your other files. Ideally, you want all of your MP3 files to be 320kbps. If you’re using Apple AAC files then 256kbps is equivalent.
  2. The other possibility is the recorded volume level of that track is simply lower than the rest of your tracks. If so, you have a few of options:
    a. Run all of you MP3 files through a normalizing software like Platinum Notes.
    b. Use the Auto Gain feature in the djay Settings to automatically adjust the volume level of each track.
    c. Manually adjust the Gain/Trim level of each track before you mix it in. This requires a bit more in depth explanation, but I’m sure there are some YouTube videos explaining this in detail. Basically you use the Gain/Trim knob above your EQs along level meter LEDs for that channel to get the audio signal at the same volume level as the track you are currently playing.
2 Likes

Ooo this gives me a lot to check on and try. Thank you so much, Slak! xoTMM

3 Likes

Hi Dash,

The one I posted is m4a, I think. I didn’t find an option to save recordings in wav on djay. Do you know of one?

Most of the tracks I used to mix in djay are wav since I bought most of them from beatport and they give a wav download option.