Recording on djay problem

I was testing recording on djay on my iPad 3. When I copied it off djay to my desktop from my iTunes all I get is static. But the file is large. Am I doing something wrong?

The recording is in a compressed AIF format. When you select “Get Info” on a file created by djay 2, it tells you that its kind is “AIFF-C audio”. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Audio_In….

The format on the file I checked is called IMA4. It’s something iOS supports natively, and apparently it loops nicely, something other compressed formats aren’t always good at.

If you don’t want to involve iTunes, I managed to convert a file using VLC. I would assume that going from a compressed file format to a non-compressed one you shouldn’t have significant loss, but I am not an expert at all on this.

Since looking at this a little closer, I’ve found that you can use a OSX command line tool called ‘afconvert’ to convert it to something you like better; ‘ffmpeg’, another tool, should be able to do that, too.

I converted my file like so:

afconvert -f WAVE -d LEI16 my-recording.aif

which creates a 16-bit .wav version. I hope that helps.

Hi Adviner,

Did this ever happen before or is this your first recording? What happens if you play the recording directly in djay?

Please make a new recording to check whether this happens again.

Can you open the recording with iTunes? Also, what exactly do you mean by “recording HD”?

Have your tried converting it to MP3

Covert the file to mp3 then put it on soundcloud.

When you record on djay and transfer the file to your CPU it’s. NOT MP3

Use iTunes to convert the file to mp3 format. Then upload it to soundcloud! Worked for me!!

Convert ONLY the original recording to MP3 using ITunes ONLY,!