Solutions to no wifi at venue

I’m just starting out DJing and I’m running into problems, but don’t have a DJ mentor to show me the ropes. I’m using DJay Pro Ai with Tidal. So far every event venue has had wifi, and everything worked out perfectly. Then I started to run into issues with the venue’s wifi not being strong enough, so I added a high speed hotspot to my phone, and that worked out great. Now I’m playing at a venue way out in the boonies. They have wifi in their home, but I’ll be playing out in their building in the back. Not sure how well my hotspot will work, so I’m looking for a Plan B and a Plan C. Apparently, you can’t download Tidal to your computer and play it offline through DJay Pro either. What do y’all do when a venue doesn’t have internet? This is so frustrating. Thanks for your help!

I can think of a have a few options:

1. Purchase enough songs and store them on your device so you don’t have to rely on Tidal and an internet connection for this gig. If you’re playing a 2 hour set, I recommend you have at least 4 hours worth of music.
  2. Sign up for a free 30 day trial of Beatport Link Professional or Beatsource Link Professional. These streaming services offer an offline locker of 1,000 songs so you don’t need Wifi.
  3. Run a long network cable from the house to the back building and hardwire to your device.
  4. Bring a Wifi booster to try to extend the signal range from the house to the back building.

I used to use Tidal and as my main source of music for gigs, but always made sure I had plenty of tracks physically stored on my device. Then I played a few gigs on a yacht with no wifi and spotty cell service. That’s when I switched to Beatport Link. It’s expensive compared to Tidal, but the offline locker is tough to beat.

4 Likes