DVS on iOS - is not good enough yet. FEB 2024 EDIT: Is Flawless

I’ve been really impressed with the iOS app and have been experimenting with moving from a MacBook to an iPad Pro. I play open format on a mix of vinyl & digital, so being able to turn up with a DVS box, iPad and a small bag of records really appeals to me. I can focus on the tunes, rather than jabbing at a keyboard like I’m checking my emails.t Here’s my setup:

iPad Pro 11"
Reloop Flux (The pass thru button on this is great for flipping from digital to vinyl)
Serato Timecode
1210’s, Ortofon needles

I’ve been using DVS since the Final Scratch days, so know how to calibrate etc. Here’s the thing though, after a couple of attempts, this is proving way too unstable to be usable.

• Reactivity in the app is really laggy, I’m no scratch pro, but even cueing accurately can be a pain at times. Small pitch changes don’t even register.
  • Hyper sensitive to dust etc on timecode, with that weird ‘underwater’ sound coming through. I keep these clean, but Serato has no issues on the exact same setup (I’ve even swapped to my MacBook mid mix, played the same slightly dusty parts of the vinyl and Serato handles it fine).
  • When I push the pass thru button on the Flux, the relevant deck in the app jumps about like its trying to read the signal. No audio comes out, but it’s really distracting. We need a ‘Thru’ blanked out deck mode like Serato, or a way to empty the deck in the app.
  • Weird channel passthrough, for some reason last night, I got both channels randomly coming through one side mid mix. Really odd. Not sure I have the energy to troubleshoot at this stage (physical setup is correct, per Serato test above), given the other issues.

TLDR: I want this to work, but it’s simply not fit for purpose for playing out. I’ll probably keep the app for fun, but, for me at least, it’s not stable enough to flip me from Serato yet.

2 Likes